Raiding Research - Personality Types

Raiding Research - Personality Types

Post 07 Nov 2010 12:52

User avatarxenophics

We here at Paragon have been planning to do this research with Ladan for some time already. It's about all of us; World of Warcraft players and raiders. We are happy to launch this mini-research here on our site. We hope people will take the time, do the test and tell their friends about the idea. What's this all about then? Read on if you want to find out, I'm posting this in behalf of Ladan:

Greetings! My name is Ladan and I'm a PhD research student based in the UK (at Durham University) and I'm researching World of Warcraft and WoW raiders in particular. My research site is http://www.raidingresearch.co.uk . Some of you may already be aware of the research I've been doing on the raiding culture and what distinguishes us from other gamers. So far I have some basic ideas about who we are and what is important to us, like the following:

* We have values--we often have a specific idea of what we expect in a good raider and what makes a good member of the raiding culture

* We are competitive--for many of us we want to excel and exceed expectations

* We like to work hard and play hard--many of us put in a lot of time to achieve success in raiding and to fine tune our characters

* We are willing to learn--we are ok with failure as long as we are learning and progressing

* We are outcomes focused--we live in a world that's got a lot of goals and outcomes to aim for and we like that (we've even made our own ranking system, discussion forums, and theory crafting sites to support this!)

So what now? Well, my work continues apace (please check my site, vote in my polls, and add comments!) and I'm currently writing up my findings. But now I've got something new to share.

Paragon has been a huge help and support to my ongoing research and I'm excited to announce a new mini-research project that we're launching together!